Henry Street Grooves – Classic Deep, Funky and Jazzy House from New York

Henri Street Music is one of the seminal labels of the early days of Onda Sonora. Mainly due to the excellent ‘Henry Street Music / The Story So Far – 1993 To 1999’ compilation on BBE. The heydays of the label were largely over by the time we came onto the scene but their stomping, raw House sound laced with Disco appealed much more to us than the lukewarm dribble with which the Spiller’s, Hed Kandi’s and Junior Jack’s of this world gave the combination of those 2 genres its sour aftertaste.

Most people will know Bucketheads’ ‘The Bomb’, ‘Got Myself Together’ or Armand Van Helden’s ‘The Funk Phenomena’ which were originally released through Henry Street Music but there’s more and better. Enough for BBE to releases a second compilation with none of the tracks from the first compilation on it. Something we can only applaud. The tracks from Rising Sunz (aka Black Science Orchestra) and Liquid Dope (Kenny Dope) have skyrocketed into the heavy rotation list at the Onda Sonora HQ. It also made us realise how much wide-open gaps there are in our own collection.

For those that don’t see this, like us, as a hint to buy the entire label’s back catalogue second hand it’s certainly an excellent opportunity to get yourself a collection of banging tracks that still outshine most of what’s being dumped into Beatport or Traxsource by the many digital only labels the world chooses to ignore. Although there’s already a vinyl sampler out and the guarantee from BBE there’s a vinyl release scheduled we can only tell you what’s on the CD.

01. The Force – Non Stop Action (Neon Mix)
02. Johnick – Summer Flight (Henry Street Mix)
03. 95 North – Check It Out (Dub)
04. Tronco Traxx – Drops (Johnny V Stole My Sample Mix)
05. Dirty Harry – Funk Daze
06. Murder Inc. – The Clap (Jungle Funk Mix)
07. Markus Schulz & C.L. McSpadden – Do What Cha Like
08. The Rising Sunz – Sunrize
09. Mike Delgado – Soul Good
10. Dirty Harry – Give Into Me
11. Liquid Dope – That Sound (Kenny “Dope” Mix)

01. DJ Duke – D2-D2
02. E-Smoove – The Guitar
03. Ray Roc – Shake It (Rock & Kato Original)
04. Maurizio Ruggiero – Uncomfortably Numb
05. DJ Duke – Amor
06. Robbie Rivera – Saxmania #1
07. The Eltingville Project – Heaven’s Piano (FTL Mix)

For the more hardcore collectors among us:
First compilation on BBE.
Henry Street Music Discography